24th Annual NorLand Limited Hockey Pool Results Announced

With the NHL playoffs finished and Pittsburgh Penguins celebrating their fifth Stanley Cup championship, it's time to announce the winners of NorLand Limited's 24th Annual Hockey Pool.  Congratulations to all participants and a special thanks to Dave De Groot for organizing another great hockey pool!

The regular season winners are:

First Place:  Candace Peace
Second Place: Wayne Stewart
Third Place: Dave De Groot

The playoff winners are:

First Place: Candace Peace
Second Place: Candace Peace
Third Place: Chris Fahr

The 2017-18 season starts in a few short months.  Time to start picking your scorers for the 25th Annual NorLand Hockey Pool!


Annual Hockey Pool History:

The annual NorLand hockey pool is one of our longest standing traditions.  Started in 1992 by Dave Reynolds and Dave De Groot, the hockey pool originally consisted of a simple spreadsheet that was updated manually on a weekly basis by recording point totals published in the sports section of The Province newspaper.   As NorLand grew and evolved over the years, so did the hockey pool.  When Internet technologies made it possible to automate the hockey pool it was first hosted on OfficePools.com before finding its present home on PickUpHockey.com.

The format of the hockey pool has essentially remained the same since 1992.  Regular season participants are simply asked to pick 30 scorers from any NHL team.   Playoff participants are asked to pick any 12 forwards, 6 defensemen and 2 goalies.  This allows participants to pick their scorers without the need for a time-consuming draft.   Back in 1992, there were only a dozen participants.  This past season we had 79 entries for the 24th Annual Hockey Pools.  As NorLand continues to grow, we hope the number of participants in the hockey pool also continues to grow.


Date Posted: June 16, 2017